Global menu

Insects and other arthropods

From egg to butterfly

Life cycle
Life cycle

Like all butterflies, monarchs undergo complete (holometabolic) metamorphosis over the course of their lives. This means that they develop in 4 distinct stages, each of which has a specific function:

  • Egg: Where the insect’s life gets started
  • Caterpillar (or larva): Where it stores up energy
  • Chrysalis (or pupa): Extreme makeover
  • Adult (or imago): Reproduction at any cost

Add this